Red Velvet (Hangul: 레드벨벳) is a South Korean girl group formed by S.M. Entertainment. The group debuted on August 1, 2014, with the digital single "Happiness." The group is composed of five members: Irene, Seulgi, Wendy, Joy, and Yeri.

Since their debut, Red Velvet has experienced notable success and recognition. The group received their first ever music program win on Music Bank for "Ice Cream Cake" eight months after debut. In September 2015, they released their first full-length album, The Red, which topped the Gaon Album Chart and the Billboard World Albums Chart. Red Velvet has received a total of eleven music awards, including two awards for choreography; Best Dance – Female and Best Dance Performance – Female Group, as well as three new artist awards.

Red Velvet members are active as television personalities, most notably Irene as a host for Music Bank, Yeri as a past host of Music Core, and Joy for her simulated marriage on the variety show We Got Married.


Seulgi was brought in through an audition in 2007 while Irene was cast in 2009. 2 years later, newest member Yeri was cast through the S.M. Global Auditions in the U.S. in 2011. Wendy auditioned through the S.M. Global Audition in Canada in 2012, while Joy auditioned through the S.M. Global Audition in Seoul in 2012. Irene, Seulgi and Wendy were rumored to debut as a group in July, which was then confirmed by S.M. Entertainment. With the addition of member Joy, the four-member group would debut as Red Velvet, S.M. Entertainment's first girl group in five years after f(x).


Debut with Happiness and Be Natural

Red Velvet made their official debut stage on the music program Music Bank on August 1, 2014. Their debut single, "Happiness", was digitally released on August 4. The song was penned by Yoo Young-jin and composed by Will Simms, Chad Hugo (The Neptunes), Chris Holsten and Anne Judith Wik (Dsign Music). It was described as an urban Europop song with a strong synth sound and an African tribal beat. The original music video for "Happiness" had more than 2 million views on YouTube in its first 24 hours of release before being removed (due to controversy over problematic images) and replaced with an edited version. "Happiness" was the second-most viewed K-pop music video worldwide for the month of August.

Red Velvet released their second digital single "Be Natural" and its music video on October 13. The song, which includes a rap verse by S.M. Entertainment rookie Taeyong, is a remake of the 2000 song of the same name by S.E.S., S.M. Entertainment's first girl group. The music video for the song was directed by Shim Jaewon, choreographed by Kyle Hanagami, and features original choreography seen in a pre-debut teaser of Irene and Seulgi, which they performed as part of S.M. Rookies. The group started their promotions on October 9, making their first appearance on the music program, M! Countdown.


New member Yeri, Ice Cream Cake, and The Red

Former S.M. Rookies member Yeri was added to the group on March 11, 2015. and on March 15, the group's first mini-album titled, Ice Cream Cake was released. The group promoted with double lead singles "Automatic" and "Ice Cream Cake" which had their music videos released on March 14 and 15.

The group started promotions on music shows on March 19 and also promoted the album through the program, Ice Cream TV which was streamed through Naver Music and hosted by SHINee's Minho. On March 27, they won their first music show trophy on Music Bank and won on all of South Korea's music programs that week. They are the first girl group debuting in 2014 to garner music show awards on major broadcast programs and sweep local digital charts in South Korea. For the first half of 2015, the album would go on to become the best selling album by a girl group in South Korea on the Hanteo Chart.

In August 2015, Red Velvet held their first United States performance during the annual KCON convention and music festival in Los Angeles, California.

Red Velvet's first full-length album The Red was released on September 9 with a total of ten tracks, including the single "Dumb Dumb". The album was received positively by critics. Billboard's Jeff Benjamin called The Red "an impressive, solid debut album" and stated that it "indicates big things for the act that needs to follow in the footsteps of their beloved female label mates Girls' Generation and f(x)." "Dumb Dumb" peaked at number three on Billboard's World Digital Songs chart, making it the best-selling K-pop song in America of the week. The Red debuted at #1 on Billboard's World Albums Chart and South Korea's Gaon Album Chart.

"Dumb Dumb" topped the Dazed Top 20 K-pop Tracks of 2015, stating that the group "surpassed their idol competitors" and "marked a monumental, career-crowning musical tornado" and was included in Rolling Stone's 10 Best Music Videos of 2015. The Red was chosen for Billboard's 10 Best K-Pop Albums of 2015, which described the album as "one of the year's most enjoyable and experimental pop LPs."

On December 18, Red Velvet took part in the agency's special winter project, entitled Winter Garden alongside label mates F(x) and BoA by releasing a digital single titled "Wish Tree".


Red Velvet's 2nd mini album, The Velvet, is scheduled for release on March 16th, 2016.


Rookie - The 4th..

Russian Roulette -..

애니메이션 텔레몬스터 OST

The Velvet - The..

투유 프로젝트 - 슈가맨..

Wish Tree (세가지 소원)..

불후의 명곡 - 전설을 노래하다..

The Red - The 1st..

The 1st Mini Album..

The 2nd Single "Be..

The 1st Single..

Popular MV's

러시안 룰렛 (Russian Roulette)  by  Red Velvet
Dumb Dumb  by  Red Velvet
Ice Cream Cake  by  Red Velvet
행복 (Happiness)  by  Red Velvet
러시안 룰렛 (Russian..
Red Velvet
Dumb Dumb
Red Velvet
Ice Cream Cake
Red Velvet
행복 (Happiness)
Red Velvet